Select language
A black and white photograph of historical firefighters

History Commission

  • Error: menu alias from URL is wrong

History Commission LogoHistory of Fire Services and CTIF,  Museums and Documentation

Für die Version in Deutsch, klicken Sie hier

For the external website of the commission, click here 

Chair/Moderator: Gerald Schimpf (Austria/Österreich)

Member Nations: Austria, Belarus, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark,  France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Russia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Switzerland, USA

Languages: This commission operates in German and English.

Starting Year: 1998

Operational Procedures: One yearly meeting in October.

Way of communication: E-mail:  Contact Gerald Schimpf

For a list of official CTIF Museums and Collections, click here


The objectives of our Commission are:

  • Assistance in the preparation of the fire brigade history in general and in special cases (thematic) for the members of the CTIF coordination.
  • Certification of fire brigade museums, show collections, traditional rooms and archives. This should be a quality feature for the respective fire brigade museums and at the same time make CTIF known.
  • Classification of fire brigade vehicles. This should be a quality feature for the respective fire brigade and their vehicle and at the same time make the CTIF known.
  • Advising the fire brigades and associations in matters of fire brigade history and archiving.
  • Administration of the CTIF Museum in Pribyslav with local museum staff
  • Organization of an annual committee meeting


Products of the Commission:
1. Guidelines for certification of fire brigade museums
2. Guidelines for classification of historic fire trucks

Delegates of the member countries:
▪ Akimova Aleksandra - Russia
▪ Barinova Yulia - Russia
▪ Baumann Heinz - Switzerland
▪ Berki Imre - Hungary - Chairman Deputy
▪ Fastl Christian K. - Austria
Gąsiorczyk Paweł - Poland
▪ Janeba Lubomir - Czech Republic
▪ Jannsen John - Denmark
▪ Juncker Patrick - Luxembourg

▪ Killen William - USA
▪ Koutri Alexandra-Ioanna - Greece
Latocha Krzysztof - Poland
▪ Naiden Tatiana - Russia
▪ Patek Jiri - Czech Republic
▪ Reinholz Heiko - Germany
▪ Ronec Peter - Slovakia
Runjić Vedran - Croatia
▪ Schamberger Rolf - Germany
▪ Schmauch Jean-Francois - France

▪ Schmit Frank - Luxembourg
▪ Scorynina Nina - Russia
▪ Slaughter Rodney - USA
▪ Soares Jaime - Portugal
▪ Teternik Andrei - Belarus

▪ Tomat Viljem - Slovenia

▪ Tsilogianni Eleftheria - Greece
▪ Van Haasteren Bianca - Netherlands

Honorary members of the CTIF and the Commission:
▪ Farrenkopf Dieter - Germany - Honorary Chairman
▪ Schinnerl Adolf- Austria - Honorary Chairman

Section for the classification of historical fire-fighting vehicles according to the CTIF regulations:
▪ Juncker Patrick - Luxembourg - Head of the group

Section for certification of fire brigade museums and collections according to CTIF regulations:
▪ Knaß-Roßmann Katrin - Austria - Head of the group

International Association for Fire and Fire History in CTIF:
▪ Valentini Ingo - Austria - Chairman
▪ B
árta Stanislav - Czech Republic - Chairman Deputy

This is an open community that works on various topics in this area. Anyone interested can participate. This working group acts on behalf of the CTIF Commission History.

A conference volume on the respective topics will be published.

Group photo History Commission (c) Richard Gazdag

Members of the History Commission and the International Study Group (c) Richard Gazdag