Commission for Extrication and new Technology

Extrication and New Technology

Tom Van Esbroeck

Chair: Tom Van Esbroeck, Belgium

The CTIF Commission for "Extrication and New Technology" is trying to encourage and promote the cooperation between fire services and other emergency services around the world.



The international commission is thematically active in three working fields:

  1. Extrication & Road Safety (UN Decade)
  2. Energy Storage Systems (batteries, solar panels, ...)
  3. Smart Tech (robots, self-driving cars, data transmission, ...)

The philosophy of the commission is mentioned in the scheme below: innovation requires the necessary flow of information regarding the product and the installation, to come to efficient rules and the dissemination of knowledge.




The commission is working within the ‘ISO’ (International Organization for Standardization) and other international stakeholders to be able to internationally harmonize information and training for the rescue services in the field.

If we can share our experiences on the international level, this will help us all one step further to guarantee the security of our citizens and emergency workers. The more we can learn from each other, the better.

Overview Commission

  • Kick-off: December 2013
  • Chairman: Tom Van Esbroeck (2nd term)
  • Project Leaders:
    • ISO: Kurt Vollmacher
    • Euro NCAP: Michel Gentilleau
    • Solar Panels: Tore Eriksson
    • Extrication: Mikko Saastamoinen
  • Meetings: 2 face-to-face meetings every year.port
  • Member countries:
    • Belgium: Tom Van Esbroeck, Kurt Vollmacher, Willy Tomboy
    • Sweden: Tore Eriksson, Johannes Stromberg, Martin Arvetsson
    • Austria: Roman Sykora
    • Italy: Emanuel Pianese
    • France: Serge Delauney, Michel Gentilleau, Adrien Zanotto, Claire Petit-Boulangier
    • Portugal: Antonio José M.N. Calinas
    • Germany: Frank Huesch, Ruediger Knoll, Ivana Kordoba-Kruijff
    • Czech Republic: Martin Zaitlik , Jakub Klucho
    • Finland: Mikko Saastamoinen
    • Poland: Jacek Gawronski
    • Denmark: Henrik Paulsen
    • Slovenia: Milan Dubravac
    • Japan: Hirochi Fukushi
    • Luxemburg: Michel Demuth, François Christnach
    • UK: Thomas Goodall
    • Norway: Ingar Hallingdal